For device deletion purposes, the system distinguishes between two types of devices:
- Development devices: all devices using a development certificate.
- Deployed devices: all devices that are not using a development certificate.
Currently, you can only delete development devices.
You will want to delete a development device if your developer certificate has reached its 100 devices limit.
To delete a device in the Device Management Portal:
- Go to the Device directory side menu.
- Check the device(s) you want to delete.
- Click the Action dropdown menu.
- Select Delete devices.
- Confirm the action.
If you delete a device, it will be unable to connect, and will not re-register when you connect it (because the device assumes it is still registered), and you will have to re-flash it with a new combined image.
Warning: You will not be able to see the deleted devices and you cannot undo a deletion.